FIFA canceled U21 and U20 World Cup in 2021 due to epidemic

FIFA canceled U21 and U20 World Cup in 2021 due to epidemic

The International Football Federation (FIFA) on Thursday (24) announced the cancellation of next year’s Under-17 and Under-20 Men’s Worlds to be held in Peru and Indonesia respectively. The organization confirmed the two countries as hosts of similar editions in 2023. The reason for this is the epidemic instability of the new coronavirus (pandemic-19).

“The Kovid-19 epidemic continues to challenge sporting events and has a restrictive effect on international travel. FIFA regularly consulted with stakeholders including member associations and federations. [América do Sul e Ásia] Involved in both tournaments. It was clear that the global situation was not normalized for the viability of the competitions and the qualification process ”, the note issued by FIFA stated.

In November, the top football unit also scheduled the women’s U-17 and U-20 World Cups scheduled for India and Costa Rica, respectively, in 2021. Like men, both countries will receive the next edition of the competitions, but 2022. For 2023, the Women’s World Cup is scheduled, to be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Last Wednesday (23), the game’s South American Confederation (Conmbol) had already announced the cancellation of the continental men’s base tournament next year – both would be at Columbia. In theory, female U-17 and U-20 South Americans (interrupted before the second phase) are placed in Uruguay and Argentina respectively.

Women’s World Cup

Also on Thursday, FIFA revealed what the classification process would be like for the 2023 Women’s World Cup. According to the organization, there are 29 direct locations divided by six conflicts: Asia (six, one of which hosts Australia – despite not having one. Asian nations, competing for the continent), Africa (four), North and Central America ( Four), South America (three), Oceania (one, which hails from New Zealand, also as host country) and Europe (11).

The other three locations will be sourced through a global repurchase that will bring together ten teams, two Asian, two African, two from North and Central America, two from South America, one from Oceania and one from Europe. Playoff matches will be played in the host countries of the World Cup and serve as a test event for the competition.

This is the first time that there will be 32 teams in the Women’s World Cup. In 2019, in France, there were 24 teams. Brazil will compete for a place in the 2022 Copa America, which still has no defined headquarters. With seven titles in eight editions, the Brazilian team is the defending three-time South American champion. The final achievement was in Chile, in 2018.

About the author: Cory Weinberg

"Student. Subtly charming organizer. Certified music advocate. Writer. Lifelong troublemaker. Twitter lover."

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *