The US should adjust the policy to grant business and tourism visas; The measure will be effective from December 24

The US should adjust the policy to grant business and tourism visas;  The measure will be effective from December 24

Daniel Toledo. Photo: Disclaimer

As of December 24, anyone who wants to travel to the United States in addition to filling the DS-160 and depositing the general consulate must pay a “deposit” amount of up to US $ 15,000 to be deposited with them. Entry into the country for tourism. The standard affects 24 countries (see list below), but does not include Brazil or Portugal.

The purpose of this measure is to ensure that these citizens return to their country of origin. Tourists coming from these countries applied in terms of tourism usually stay according to the visas given, which in this case is B1, for business, and beyond B2. This movement is known as Stay over. Brazil is not on the list, but it is considered one of the champions in this parity.

The US State Department publication matches the nationalities that sent the most citizens to the United States with B-1 and B-2 visas in 2019, and those who did not return to their homes. The fee, which can still vary from $ 5,000 to $ 15,000, will be paid at the visa issuance, at the consulate or at the US embassy. The amount will be refunded when the person confirms that he has already returned.

The Trump administration’s initiative also aims to test the measure for six months. After this period, management will analyze the effectiveness and effects of this action.

However, that initiative should be scrapped by President-Elect Joe Biden. It is not part of the Democrats’ policy, let alone a Democratic philosophy to uphold any form of discrimination or restriction in this regard, unless it means national security.

READ  COVID advance threatens essential services in the United States

This does not mean the apathy of the United States in these countries, but the issue of avoiding mass migration from many African countries to European countries. Many countries in Africa are suffering from political instability, economic instability, public safety crisis, high unemployment and lack of social development, so many migrate to seek a better life. And the United States government wanted to properly close the door to prevent these migrants from entering the country in an exaggerated and unrestricted manner.

Check list:

Afghanistan, Angola, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo (Kinshasa), Djibouti, Eritrea, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Iran, Laos, Liberia, Libya, Mauritania, Papua New Guinea Sao Tome and Principe, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

* Daniel Toledo is an attorney at Toledo e Advagados Associates specializing in international law, an international business consultant and speaker. Effective member of the OAB Sao Paulo International Relations Commission and the OAB Santos International Law Commission

About the author: Sarah Gracie

"Proud social media buff. Unapologetic web scholar. Internet guru. Lifelong music junkie. Travel specialist."

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *