Formula 1: See all Brazil GP winners

Formula 1: See all Brazil GP winners

The last was in 2019 with Max Verstappen from Red Bull on top and six seconds ahead of Frenchman Pierre Gasly from Toro Rosso.

These two stages took place at the Autodromo José Carlos Pace in Interlagos, but this was not always the case. In 1978 and from 1981 to 1989, the Autódromo Internazionale Nelson Piquet in Jacarpagua, Rio de Janeiro, won the Brazilian GP with Frenchman Alain Prost.

Most winning drivers in Brazil

Alain Prost is often referred to as the “enemy of Brazil” because of his rivalry with Ayrton Senna, but the nickname “King of Rio” is best suited to the pilot. Brazil had six victories, an absolute record, five of them in Jacarpagua.

Alain Prost with Michel Alboreto (left) and Elio de Angelis – F1 at the top of the podium in Jacarpagua at the 1985 GP

However, there is still controversy: in 1982, after protests presented by the team leaders of Renault and Ferrari, Prost (Renault) won due to the disqualifications of Nelson Piquet (Brabham) and Keke Rosberg (Williams). The challenge pointed to an irregularity in the brake cooling system. The race was tested and the claim was accepted by the International Federation of Sports Motorsport.

Besides the French, four other drivers stand in victory in Brazil: German Michael Schumacher with four, and Argentines Carlos Reutemann and German Sebastian Vettel, both with three.

Paes celebrates victory at Interlagos – F1

Among the Brazilians, five of them managed to win at home: Felipe Massa, Nelson Piquet, Emerson Fittipaldi and Ayrton Senna, all with two wins; and Jose Carlos Paes, with a solitary victory in 1975.

Most winning teams in Brazil

McLaren and Ferrari have been great rivals since the 60s and here in Brazil they are fighting fiercely for the team post which often ends first. The English team has 12 wins and is the record holder. The winning drivers with a McLaren car are Alain Prost (four times), Ayrton Senna (twice), Mika Hkkinen (twice), Emerson Fittipaldi, David Coulthard, Juan Pablo Montoya and Jenson Button.

READ  Brazil closes participation in Paralympics in seventh place in medal tally

Photos: Drivers arrive at Interlagos for So Paulo GP