How to choose who can see your story on Instagram

How to choose who can see your story on Instagram

Instagram (Android | iOS | Web) has a “Close Friends” function, which allows you to group with people you trust so that they only see what you post in Stories.

Instagram recently got an update that makes the Close Friends feature even more personal: it’s “Selected People,” where you can choose which users can see the content you post one-by-one. can. Next, find out how it works.

How the Featured People feature works on Instagram

Yes, this may sound confusing. After all, if Close Friends already exists, why is there a functionality along the same lines? It turns out that Selected People is a more thorough way to limit who can see your stories on Instagram. It also helps give you more control when managing and selecting your “audience”.

Want to catch up on the best tech news of the day? Access and subscribe to our new YouTube channel, Canaltech News. A summary of the headlines from the tech world every day for you!

This applies to every story. That is, you can select, include or exclude person by person within the new role. It’s a little different from Close Friends, which only allows you to share stories with pre-set groups that can’t be changed.

Also, it is important to note that this feature has not been released to all users, as it is still on trial. So, if it hasn’t appeared yet, make sure the Instagram app is updated to the latest version or wait until the function becomes available to you.

How to choose who can see your story on Instagram

Phase 1: Open Instagram and tap the circle with your photo on the Home screen to create a new Stories. You can also use the “plus” (+) button in the upper right corner.

See also  How to Download Crash Bandicoot: On the Run! And play war games on android and iphone
On the Instagram home screen, go to the option to create new stories (Screenshot: Caio Carvalho/Canaltech)

Phase 2: Create a new Stories and tap “Selected People” at the bottom of the screen. Note that the function uses the same small white star on a green background as the Close Friends feature.

The Selected People feature is in the same field as Close Friends. Tap the button to access the new function (Screenshot: Chris Giotto / Canaltec)

step 3: Select the people you want to include in the preview list. You can search for other users or follow Instagram’s own suggestions.

It’s possible to select multiple people at once, but the idea of ​​the new feature is to hand-pick exactly who will see your stories (Screenshot: Chris Gaiato/CanalTech)

step 4: With the people selected, tap the “Share” button.

After you’ve selected everyone you want in your friends list, just tap the “Share” button (Screenshot: Chris Giotto/CanalTech)

ready! Only people in your selected people list will be able to see what you post on your Instagram Stories.

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to your email at Canaltech to receive daily updates with the latest news from the world of technology.

About the author: Raven Weber

Musicaholic. Unapologetic alcohol maven. Social media expert. Award-winning coffee evangelist. Typical thinker.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *