Live: Australia are bowling first in the second ODI


Australia will bowl first when they demand a series win against New Zealand in the second ODI in Brisbane.

Ashleigh Gardner was fit to play in Saturday’s opening game after hitting a finger on the field, but the hosts did not change as captain Meg Lanning won the toss and elected to send White Furness to the second straight match.

Gardner was unable to bowl after knocking out one of his three catches on Saturday, while his services were not needed with the bat as Australia won by seven wickets.

New Zealand were forced to replace star batsman Susie Bates with Hannah Rowe after a shoulder injury at the end of the former White Furnace captain’s title.

Bates landed awkwardly on the field after trying to block Sophie Molinex’s four with a full-length dive and did not play any other part in the match.

The Kiwis will also be without Lauren Down, who missed the final T20I and the first ODI and is not out of the elbow issue.

Bates has failed to make a significant impact in the series but has done well in the ODI record, averaging 422 out of 125 career matches. of 0, while three of his hundreds have come against Australia.

“Losing Suzy for the other two games is clearly a big loss,” said head coach Bob Carter.

“Whenever you lose the experience and wealth of runs in more than 100 ODIs in an ODI, it is difficult to replace them.”

Australia, who want to continue winning their 20-year-old Ross Ball, will win their 20th consecutive ODI if they come out on top today.

READ  Schoolgirl reveals how volunteering inspired her to study at Stanford

Australia XI: Alyssa Haley, Rachel Haynes, Meg Lanning (capt), Beth Mooney, Sophie Molinux, Ashlag Gardner, Annabal Sutherland, Nicola Carey, Jess Jonasson, Georgia Wareham, Megan Shutt.

New Zealand: Sophie Devine (C), Natalie Dodd, Amy Strathwaite, Amalia Kerr, Katie Martin (WK), Katie Perkins, Maddie Green, Haley Jensen, Hannah Rowe, Rosemary Meyer, Leah Tahuhu.

CommBank T20I and ODI series

Australia team: Meg Lanning (C), Rachel Haynes (VC), Matlen Bra, N, Erin Burns, Nicola Carey, Ashlag Gardner, Alyssa Haley, Jess Jonasan, Delisa Kimmins, Tahlia McGraw, Sophie Molinux, Beth Mooney, Alice Perry, Megan Stern, Molly Stern, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, Belinda Vakareva

New Zealand Team: Sophie Devine (C), Susie Bates, Natalie Dodd, Dina Dotty, Lauren Down, Maddie Green, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Rosemary Meyer, Katie Martin, Hannah Rowe, Amy Satterthwaite, Les Tahtah, Jess

All matches will be played at Brisbane’s Allen Border Field

First T20: Australia won by 17 runs

Second T20: Australia won by eight wickets

Third T20: New Zealand won by five wickets

First ODI: Australia won by seven wickets

October 5: Second ODI, 10:10 a.m. AEST (11:10 a.m. AEDT)

October 7: Third ODI, 10:10 a.m. AEST (11:10 a.m. AEDT)

Watch live on the Seven Network, Fox Cricket and Kyo Sports

About the author: Seth Grace

"Social media trailblazer. Music junkie. Evil student. Introvert. Typical beer fan. Extreme web ninja. Tv fanatic. Total travel evangelist. Zombie guru."

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *