Australia adopts new restrictions after increase in cases

Australia adopts new restrictions after increase in cases

increase in cases coronavirus Several cities in Australia forced the authorities to adopt new restrictions in some areas of the country.

Australia managed to contain the spread of COVID-19 in 2020, but is currently reporting an increase in the number of people infected, especially in the four major cities: Brisbane, Darwin, Sydney and Perth.

All four cases of the delta version of the coronavirus, which is highly contagious, were reported.

The virus has spread due to the failure of about 40 people from abroad to quarantine.

These days the most focus is on Sydney. The source would be a driver who works for an airline crew and who tested positive a few weeks back. Residents of Australia’s most populous city began two weeks of confinement on Sunday.

The 48-hour prison term in the city of Darwin and its outskirts in the north of the country was extended until Friday, as the number of infections linked to an isolated gold mine rose to seven.

Officials also urged Aboriginal populations, who would be more vulnerable to the virus, not to travel to Darwin.

The cities of Perth (south-west) and Brisbane (east) also strengthened restriction measures.

Brisbane and its territory have resumed the mandatory use of masks and limited the number of people authorized to a meeting.

Since the start of the pandemic, Australia has recorded nearly 30,000 cases of Covid-19 and 910 deaths out of a population of 25 million people.

READ  Britain should ask the G7 to extend the deadline for the withdrawal of troops from Afghanistan. World

About the author: Muhammad Wayne

"Travel enthusiast. Alcohol lover. Friendly entrepreneur. Coffeeaholic. Award-winning writer."

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *