Typing and online status can now be hidden

WhatsApp é alvo de queixas na UE após mudanças em política de privacidade

WhatsApp: Typing and online status can now be hidden WhatsApp has settings to define who can see your profile picture, add you to a group, or view the scraps attached to your profile.

However, whenever you open the app, anyone – even if they’re not your contact – can see that you’re active in the app in a very simple way: the text “Online” appears just below your name.

Currently, none of WhatsApp’s settings modify the “online” display.

Blocked contacts can’t see “online,” but those contacts can’t even send you any messages—which is usually not the target of someone trying to hide this information.

Be careful to avoid ‘online’

Before trying to hide the “online” warning, it’s important to remember that this practice can have unintended consequences.

WhatsApp “online” is reliable because it cannot be disabled.

When someone notices that they are receiving messages from you without seeing “online” or “typing” first, your contact is likely to suspect something is wrong because it is not app-specific.

In other words, the idea of ​​hiding your presence can easily lead to more suspicion and suspicion.

If someone is upset about not getting a response after seeing you online, that person may lose all trust in your contact online, which can lead to the conclusion – possibly true – that you are avoiding and hiding from them .

WhatsApp privacy settings only allow you to control ‘last seen’, ‘notes’ associated with profiles and ‘status’ that act like WhatsApp stories. There is no adjustment for the ‘online’ warning. – photo: reproduction

See also  Twitter user lets you play Pokémon through your avatar

how to read whatsapp without going online

Reading messages via smartphone notifications (whether the screen is locked or not) is the easiest way to view and “report” received content without opening WhatsApp that you’re connected.

But this practice is not always useful: Notifications show some conversations and only snippets of what was received.

Plus, there’s a really simple trick to not get “snobbed” by the WhatsApp “online” prompt. It sounds obvious, but open WhatsApp without being “online” (connected to the internet).

Enabling “Airplane Mode” on your smartphone to turn off Wi-Fi networks and connect to a mobile network is one of the most intuitive ways to do this.

Without internet access, WhatsApp will not be able to “warn” you that you have opened the application and that you will not appear “online”.

You can type and “send” messages without a connection, but they won’t be delivered unless you turn off Airplane Mode or connect to a Wi-Fi network manually.

Your contacts also won’t be notified when you’re typing in Airplane Mode. In other words, the trick works to hide both “online” and “typing”.

alternative methods are risky

Some applications and browser extensions promise to “improve” WhatsApp, including options to hide “online” and “typing”.

The problem with these “solutions” is that they need to interfere with your WhatsApp connection in order to offer these features.

If you are concerned about your privacy and don’t want to disclose it when you are online or typing, then no point risking all your intimacy by using unofficial apps to connect to WhatsApp Is.

See also  Game Boy and Game Boy Color Games on the way to service

If these apps or services are prone to hacker attacks, the security of your conversations may be at risk.

There are also apps that allow you to read the “history” of mobile notifications. This trick allows you to view (at least partially) messages received through WhatsApp without opening the app.

Unlike normal notification – which condenses notifications and leaves only what is most recent – ​​browsing history allows reading of multiple conversations and messages received in individual notifications.

For an app to be able to view notification history, it must be allowed to access and log all notifications it receives. This is risky, because reading notifications gives you access not only to WhatsApp, but to your SMS and other resources.

Reading notification is one of the permissions considered “special” on Android, as spy apps take advantage of it to access authorization codes received by torpedoes or to monitor your communications.

If the application used for this purpose is not completely trusted, then there is a possibility of serious problem.

Like browser extensions, it is not recommended to use these mechanisms to bypass the regular functioning of WhatsApp.






About the author: Raven Weber

Musicaholic. Unapologetic alcohol maven. Social media expert. Award-winning coffee evangelist. Typical thinker.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *